FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™
Dear Reader,

Registration with the Sri Lanka FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™️ would enable you to enjoy an array of other services such as Member Rankings, User Groups, Own Posts & Profile, Exclusive Research, Live Chat Box etc..

All information contained in this forum is subject to Disclaimer Notice published.


Thank You
FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™️
www.srilankachronicle.com


Join the forum, it's quick and easy

FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™
Dear Reader,

Registration with the Sri Lanka FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™️ would enable you to enjoy an array of other services such as Member Rankings, User Groups, Own Posts & Profile, Exclusive Research, Live Chat Box etc..

All information contained in this forum is subject to Disclaimer Notice published.


Thank You
FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™️
www.srilankachronicle.com
FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™

Encyclopedia of Latest news, reviews, discussions and analysis of stock market and investment opportunities in Sri Lanka

LISTED COMPANIES

Submit Post


ADVERTISE
Poll

EXCHANGE RATE PREDICTION: 2022

 
 
 
 

View results

ශ්‍රී ලංකා මූල්‍ය වංශකථාව - සිංහල
Submit Post


CONATCT US


Send your suggestions and comments

* - required fields

Read FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™ Disclaimer



Latest topics

» The war in Ukraine is no longer shocking the wheat market
by ResearchMan Today at 9:50 am

» When will supply chain disruptions ease?
by Gowri123 Yesterday at 11:46 pm

» KHL Massive forex gains close to 6 billions
by rajini Yesterday at 10:54 pm

» Tourism in Sri Lanka: One step forward, two steps back
by rajini Yesterday at 9:21 pm

» Expolanka to continue its winning streak
by samaritan Yesterday at 4:12 pm

» Govt gets its priorities wrong
by samaritan Yesterday at 10:25 am

» Ambassador assures U.S. support to Sri Lanka to find solutions to economic issues
by samaritan Yesterday at 10:16 am

» IMF-Sri Lanka bailout talks end without a deal
by ChooBoy Yesterday at 9:16 am

» Sri Lanka Breaks Into Hyperinflation Zone Amid Dollar Crunch
by CHRONICLE™ Yesterday at 8:11 am

» Sri Lanka needs to do more on debt restructuring before a bailout package is finalised, says IMF
by CHRONICLE™ Yesterday at 8:06 am

» Global COVID cases rise as BA.4 and BA.5 expand
by samaritan Yesterday at 7:04 am

» POSITIVES & TARGETS BY IMTIAZ BUHARDEEN
by Gowri123 Wed Jun 29, 2022 4:38 pm

» We’re seeing a shift toward international and value stocks, says Schwab’s Kleintop
by target1 Wed Jun 29, 2022 2:40 am

» Wall Street stumbles as consumer pessimism stokes growth fears
by target1 Wed Jun 29, 2022 2:34 am

» Free Market Capitalism vs. Crony Capitalism
by target1 Wed Jun 29, 2022 2:30 am

» Sri Lankan corporations reap large profits as workers and rural toilers face poverty and starvation
by CHRONICLE™ Tue Jun 28, 2022 6:37 pm

» අද රාත්‍රියෙන් පසු, යක්ෂයාගේ හෝරාව ඇරඹේ!
by God Father Tue Jun 28, 2022 6:13 pm

» Derana 360 with Minister Dhammika Perera
by samaritan Tue Jun 28, 2022 1:07 pm

» CENTRAL INDUSTRIES PLC (CIND.N0000)
by LHW Tue Jun 28, 2022 9:24 am

» Breaking News- Kanchana to go to Qatar ; 2 more ministers off to Russia
by Beyondsenses Tue Jun 28, 2022 8:13 am

EXPERT CHRONICLE™

MARKET CHAT


CHRONICLE™ ANALYTICS


ECONOMIC CHRONICLE

GROSS DOMESTIC PRODUCT (GDP)


CHRONICLE™ YouTube

LATEST TWEETS

You are not connected. Please login or register

FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™ » CHRONICLE™ ANALYTICS » Review on the facilities and features of 'Jstock' Investment management software.

Review on the facilities and features of 'Jstock' Investment management software.

+9
investor0000
Rocky
milanka
swan03
npc86
Quibit
2011_NewComer
gann
KPMG
13 posters

Go to page : 1, 2  Next

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 2]

KPMG

KPMG
Manager - Equity Analytics
Manager - Equity Analytics

Dear Friends,
Pls let me know if u know any software that can be downloaded free of charges and use as portfolio managing SW

Thank u in advance

Happy Trading..



Last edited by Quibit on Wed Mar 30, 2011 7:11 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : Amended in compliance with forum guidelines)

gann

gann
Senior Manager - Equity Analytics
Senior Manager - Equity Analytics

KPMG wrote:Dear Friends,
Pls let me know if u know any software that can be downloaded free of charges and use as portfolio managing SW(I mean one that had in Investnow.lk)

Thank u in advance

Happy Trading..

http://jstock.sourceforge.net/

KPMG

KPMG
Manager - Equity Analytics
Manager - Equity Analytics

gann wrote:
KPMG wrote:Dear Friends,
Pls let me know if u know any software that can be downloaded free of charges and use as portfolio managing SW(I mean one that had in Investnow.lk)

Thank u in advance

Happy Trading..

http://jstock.sourceforge.net/

Buddy, hw i can incorporate my portfolio to this??
i mean CSE data.. and Broker's comm, Sec fees etc..

2011_NewComer

2011_NewComer
Senior Manager - Equity Analytics
Senior Manager - Equity Analytics

gann wrote:
KPMG wrote:Dear Friends,
Pls let me know if u know any software that can be downloaded free of charges and use as portfolio managing SW(I mean one that had in Investnow.lk)

Thank u in advance

Happy Trading..

http://jstock.sourceforge.net/

Can we use it for Sri Lanka? In the countries list, Sri Lanka is not there.

gann

gann
Senior Manager - Equity Analytics
Senior Manager - Equity Analytics

You can add custom defined stock symbols and commission rates.

GOTO Options to add fees.
GOTO DATABASE->STOCK DATABASE to add user defined stock codes and symbols

Then goto Portfolio Management Tab to add entries.

Quibit


Senior Vice President - Equity Analytics
Senior Vice President - Equity Analytics

Hi Gann,

I have requested our technical guys to attach a link of the 'Jstock' website in our side bar so that the members can directly download the software. Looks like it's already done.

Thanks for your assistance in helping member to learn how to use the software.

Quibi

npc86

npc86
Manager - Equity Analytics
Manager - Equity Analytics

Can anybody explanin how to add CSE and it's related counters and How to set our PP..? jocolor

Quibit


Senior Vice President - Equity Analytics
Senior Vice President - Equity Analytics

Below is the message I received from swan03, appreciate if anyone could give an answer..

Hi

I have downloaded JStock SW. I want to add my portfolio. I have few questions before using this sw.
1. How could I add Srilanka?
2. How should I find my brokerage & other fees?

Can you pls guide me to do that?

Thanks in advance,

gann

gann
Senior Manager - Equity Analytics
Senior Manager - Equity Analytics

Jstock doesnt support the auto update feature for sl stocks. Instead you have to add each stock that you trade in cse manually. I have given instructions in my previous post.

swan03


Vice President - Equity Analytics
Vice President - Equity Analytics

gann wrote:Jstock doesnt support the auto update feature for sl stocks. Instead you have to add each stock that you trade in cse manually. I have given instructions in my previous post.

Do I have to update daily?

gann

gann
Senior Manager - Equity Analytics
Senior Manager - Equity Analytics

swan03 wrote:
gann wrote:Jstock doesnt support the auto update feature for sl stocks. Instead you have to add each stock that you trade in cse manually. I have given instructions in my previous post.

Do I have to update daily?

Only when you buy, sell, add cash, receive dividends etc.

You can use only the portfolio management part with jstock for cse.

milanka

milanka
Vice President - Equity Analytics
Vice President - Equity Analytics

I did a brief review on the facilities and features available with the 'Jstock' Investment management software.

Findings of the study and how to configure and install are given below.

The first step is to configure the tool according to your requirement.

They are :-

Changing the currency type.
Creating the Portfolio date base. (if you need more than one database could also be created)
Assigning the commission rates for CDS , Broker , CSE etc.
Creating the Stocks Database. - use the user defined option and the create the stock codes you require. (For other world exchanges the facility is provided directly)

Once the above steps are done you are ready to go. Smile

In the Portfolio Management menu option following features are useable.

1. Could record Sold note entries.
2. Could record Bought Note entries.
3. Could record dividend received against the respective stock code.
4. A Tool to mange your cash receipts and payments.
5. It calculates realized profit and paper profit as you enter the sales and purchases.
6. Add a common note to the portfolio and also to each and every sales or purchases entry.
7. Net gain or loss shown for each sale and for each purchase.

8. Powerful graphical facilities

- Investment flow chart with investment and ROI
- Dividend comparison for all stocks – Bar chart.
- Net Gain by each stock – Pie chart



Embarassed Limitations :

Non-availability of direct connection to CSE servers. ( actually information is picked from Yahoo – Finance)
Non availability of data backup and restore facility.
Confidentiality of information. - Your information is open to the internet . (Ref. Note on Privacy statement from Jstock)
The Stock watch-List , Indicator Editor and the Indicator Scanner presently not working.


Additional features. Commission calculation can be set to manual or in auto mode.

You could use the data on your home PC from office or other location by using Google cloud computing facility. ( This is as per the reading material – Still I didn’t check this in practical terms)

Optionally it supports 25 popular stock markets.

Note on Privacy statement. :- We will never expose your data to third parties. Your personal sensitive information will NEVER be stored : Google password, Chat username, Chat password etc.

sunny Conclusion :- It was stable and worked well on my Windows 7 PC along with other software.
It has a brief online Help system which is easy to use/navigate.
Its powerful software and comes with free price tag.

http://forum.srilankaequity.com/u188

Quibit


Senior Vice President - Equity Analytics
Senior Vice President - Equity Analytics

Excellent review
Thanks. + rep from me.

Rocky

Rocky
Senior Manager - Equity Analytics
Senior Manager - Equity Analytics

Systems are good and gaps can be developed.
Question: With the web being the MEGA spy any mediocre investor will get into serious trouble with her / his net worth.

Confidentiality and back up are fundamental criteria for a portfolio management system.
Until this criteria is fully met no one in a proper sense of mind would like to tell the world his true net worth!

Only my opinion as a specialist.

milanka

milanka
Vice President - Equity Analytics
Vice President - Equity Analytics

Thanks Quibi for the recommendation on my review and for the rep.

Hybrid_Os : Thanks for highlighting the limitations which I indicated. The two points are the main areas which we cover under Information technology security. If one is using a free (shareware) he/she should be aware of these. The devlopers never include all the menu options in a shareware . And if one needs then whould have to go for fee based software.

http://forum.srilankaequity.com/u188

16Review on the facilities and  features  of 'Jstock' Investment management software.  Empty Jstock- Add Stock Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:44 pm

investor0000


Equity Analytic
Equity Analytic

how to add Colombo stocks to Jstock?

investor0000


Equity Analytic
Equity Analytic

can someone please reply....

Quibit


Senior Vice President - Equity Analytics
Senior Vice President - Equity Analytics

Please Visit the "Charts & Graph" Section of the Forum. There is a a separate Topic regarding Jstocks. Charts & Graph Section is located in the "Home" Page of the Forum.

I have given below a quick link but it is better to visit the Section because it has many other topics relating to Stock Market Charts & Graphs and Technical Information.

http://forum.srilankaequity.com/t1917-review-on-the-facilities-and-features-of-jstock-investment-management-software

Quibit


Senior Vice President - Equity Analytics
Senior Vice President - Equity Analytics

The reason to include the said software in our sidebar is to provide alternative option for our members to maintain their portfolio's for periodic appraisals. This is also ideal to maintain virtual portfolios and different buy/sell simulations for performance analysis. This is a free downloadable software and it may have certain limitations as clearly indicated by some members.

As discussed here, I do agree that, it is not advisable to maintain your actual share portfolios in 3rd Party portfolio management software offered by many local and foreign service providers irrespective of their security confirmation.

Currently CDAX and Direct FN offer free portfolio management software together with their order placement software.

swan03


Vice President - Equity Analytics
Vice President - Equity Analytics

Someone has done this perfectly?

21Review on the facilities and  features  of 'Jstock' Investment management software.  Empty Your Questions Answered. Mon Mar 21, 2011 8:55 am

milanka

milanka
Vice President - Equity Analytics
Vice President - Equity Analytics

investor0000 wrote:how to add Colombo stocks to Jstock?

I mentioned in my review about the matter you raised. There is no direct method. You have to add it manually. I have tried this and its working.

I also notice Gann ( Mod ) also recommended the method I used in another thread . Read my review carefully. I used the Portfolio management for testing it works fine. I will also add my portfolio (actuals ) as an when I get free time .

SWAN03 : You raised some issue , Its not clear what you reqire .

http://forum.srilankaequity.com/u188

swan03


Vice President - Equity Analytics
Vice President - Equity Analytics

milanka wrote:
investor0000 wrote:how to add Colombo stocks to Jstock?

I mentioned in my review about the matter you raised. There is no direct method. You have to add it manually. I have tried this and its working.

I also notice Gann ( Mod ) also recommended the method I used in another thread . Read my review carefully. I used the Portfolio management for testing it works fine. I will also add my portfolio (actuals ) as an when I get free time .

SWAN03 : You raised some issue , Its not clear what you reqire .


What I want to know is, has someone already used this sw? Coz I tried to update my data. But I coudnt do any Sad.

milanka

milanka
Vice President - Equity Analytics
Vice President - Equity Analytics

swan03 wrote:
milanka wrote:
investor0000 wrote:how to add Colombo stocks to Jstock?

I mentioned in my review about the matter you raised. There is no direct method. You have to add it manually. I have tried this and its working.

I also notice Gann ( Mod ) also recommended the method I used in another thread . Read my review carefully. I used the Portfolio management for testing it works fine. I will also add my portfolio (actuals ) as an when I get free time .

SWAN03 : You raised some issue , Its not clear what you reqire .


What I want to know is, has someone already used this sw? Coz I tried to update my data. But I coudnt do any Sad.

For testing purposes I spent about 2-3 Hrs with it and it worked. You may have to try different ways and setup it so that it suits the CSE. For Ex. the com % calculations , you have to set what is available to suit our setup at CSE. At CSe i think there are about 5 com % types . but in the software you have only 3 types if I remember right.

Hope this helps.

http://forum.srilankaequity.com/u188

praba11


Equity Analytic
Equity Analytic

JStock mgmnt tool is the site which you have link to this site. Shocked

There are total 25 countries being supported at this moment. but Sri lanka is not incleded.


can any one explain what is the use of this tool for us.?? scratch confused

swan03


Vice President - Equity Analytics
Vice President - Equity Analytics

praba11 wrote:JStock mgmnt tool is the site which you have link to this site. Shocked

There are total 25 countries being supported at this moment. but Sri lanka is not incleded.


can any one explain what is the use of this tool for us.?? scratch confused

Im also interested in this though still coudnt update my data. But I do update my own excel sheet for the time being Smile

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 2]

Go to page : 1, 2  Next

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum