FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™
Dear Reader,

Registration with the Sri Lanka FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™️ would enable you to enjoy an array of other services such as Member Rankings, User Groups, Own Posts & Profile, Exclusive Research, Live Chat Box etc..

All information contained in this forum is subject to Disclaimer Notice published.


Thank You
FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™️
www.srilankachronicle.com


Join the forum, it's quick and easy

FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™
Dear Reader,

Registration with the Sri Lanka FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™️ would enable you to enjoy an array of other services such as Member Rankings, User Groups, Own Posts & Profile, Exclusive Research, Live Chat Box etc..

All information contained in this forum is subject to Disclaimer Notice published.


Thank You
FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™️
www.srilankachronicle.com
FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Encyclopedia of Latest news, reviews, discussions and analysis of stock market and investment opportunities in Sri Lanka


Submit PostSubmit Post
ශ්‍රී ලංකා මූල්‍ය වංශකථාව - සිංහල
Submit Post



Latest topics

» DIPD/HAYC/HAYL
by RJ1010 Today at 12:10 pm

» WindForce (WIND) IPO Overview
by EquityChamp Today at 10:09 am

» Norway -> biggest shareholder of NDB
by shihan 93 Today at 9:56 am

» A Strong bounce back of ASI is on the cards
by Equityinvestor Yesterday at 10:09 pm

» Prominent Investors of the colombo stock market
by Walbaba Yesterday at 9:09 pm

» GLAS will be winner with Super Gain.
by Promoney Yesterday at 3:41 pm

» Many positives for Next week
by Vishwanarth Yesterday at 12:29 pm

» Maldives records over 100,000 tourist arrivals in first 35 days of the year
by samaritan Yesterday at 9:59 am

» Kind of behavior traders engage in when they are frustrated and want their money back from the market. Stock market for beginners
by lal62 Yesterday at 7:40 am

» EXPO EXPO EXPO
by Gowri123 Yesterday at 12:35 am

» still I believe this
by 100Bill Fri Mar 05, 2021 9:21 pm

» SUNSHINE HOLDINGS PLC (SUN.N0000)
by ErangaDS Fri Mar 05, 2021 8:19 pm

» Investor sentiment - will there ever be a recovery?
by xhunter Fri Mar 05, 2021 7:49 pm

» Let's have a stop-loss strategy to maximize investment returns in stock market
by EquityChamp Fri Mar 05, 2021 7:19 pm

» Daily Foreign Transactions
by Pradeep90 Fri Mar 05, 2021 6:56 pm

» කොටස් මිල දී ගන්න මෙය හොඳම කාලයයි – රාජ්‍ය අමාත්‍ය කබ්රාල්
by samaritan Fri Mar 05, 2021 5:07 pm

» IS it right time to stick to warren buffett's most famous saying ???
by Mr. X Fri Mar 05, 2021 4:02 pm

» CSE - The World's best performer!
by Vishwanarth Fri Mar 05, 2021 2:42 pm

» Best Broker
by Wickyz Fri Mar 05, 2021 2:32 pm

» Game Changed! SUPER GREEN
by Karthick Fri Mar 05, 2021 12:24 pm

EXPERT CHRONICLE™

ECONOMIC CHRONICLE

GROSS DOMESTIC PRODUCT (GDP)


CHRONICLE™ YouTube

CHRONICLE™ NEWS PRODUCTS

FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™

Views & Reviews, Analysis, Evaluations, Discussions, Gossip and Hot Tips relating to Sri Lankan companies listed on the Colombo Stock Exchange (CSE)
Contribute




DAILY CHRONICLE™

Latest news and articles published in Newspapers, Websites, Blogs and other online news sites relating to business and investments in Sri Lanka
Contribute



ECONOMIC CHRONICLE™

This is a section that provide news, views, analysis, predications relating to Political and Socio-Economic factors and how such activities affect the Stock Market and other economic activity of the Country.

Contribute




EXPERT CHRONICLE™

This is an exclusive section for Expert Articles which will help member to share knowledge through comments and responses of the members. All members are allowed to reply and make comments to these articles.

Contribute


Submit Post


CHRONICLE™ YouTube

Youtube Videos and other visual presentations relating Stock market and other investment advise submitted by members or other contributors.

Contribute


Submit Post


කොළඔ කොටස් වෙළඳපොළේ වංශකථාව
කොළඔ කොටස් වෙළඳපොළේ ලැයිස්තුගත සමාගම් කොටස් ගැන තොරතුරු¸විශ්ලේෂණ¸සාකච්ඡා¸ කටකතා¸රසකතා යන සියල්ල අපේම සිංහලෙන් කතා කළ හැකි ‘කතා මණ්ඩපය’

Contribute

Twitter Feeds
POPULAR COMPANIES
A

ABANS ELECTRICALS PLC

ACCESS ENGINEERING PLC Hot

ACL CABLES PLC

ACL PLASTICS PLC

ACME PRINTING & PACKAGING PLC

AGSTAR PLC

AITKEN SPENCE HOTEL HOLDINGS PLC

AITKEN SPENCE PLC

ANILANA HOTELS AND PROPERTIES PLC

ARPICO INSURANCE PLC

ASIA ASSET FINANCE PLC

ASIA CAPITAL PLC

B

BAIRAHA FARMS PLC

BALANGODA PLANTATIONS PLC

BIMPUTH FINANCE PLC

BLUE DIAMONDS JEWELLERY WORLDWIDE PLC

B P P L HOLDINGS PLC

BROWNS BEACH HOTELS PLC

BROWNS INVESTMENTS PLC

C

CARGO BOAT DEVELOPMENT COMPANY PLC

CENTRAL INDUSTRIES PLC

CEYLON COLD STORES PLC

CEYLON GRAIN ELEVATORS PLC Hot

CEYLON TEA BROKERS PLC

CEYLON TOBACCO COMPANY PLC

CHEVRON LUBRICANTS LANKA PLC

COLOMBO FORT LAND & BUILDING PLC

COMMERCIAL BANK OF CEYLON PLC

CITRUS LEISURE PLC Hot

COMMERCIAL CREDIT AND FINANCE PLC

D

DANKOTUWA PORCELAIN PLC

DFCC BANK PLC

DIALOG AXIATA PLC

DIALOG FINANCE PLC

DIPPED PRODUCTS PLC

DISTILLERIES COMPANY OF SRI LANKA PLC

DUNAMIS CAPITAL PLC

E

EAST WEST PROPERTIES PLC Hot

EASTERN MERCHANTS PLC

EXPOLANKA HOLDINGS PLC

E-CHANNELLING PLC

F

FIRST CAPITAL HOLDINGS PLC

G

GALADARI HOTELS (LANKA) PLC

GUARDIAN CAPITAL PARTNERS PLC

H

HATTON NATIONAL BANK PLC

HAYLEYS PLC

HAYLEYS FABRIC PLC

HAYLEYS FIBRE PLC Hot

HEMAS HOLDINGS PLC

HIKKADUWA BEACH RESORT PLC

HNB ASSURANCE PLC

HVA FOODS PLC

J

JANASHAKTHI INSURANCE COMPANY PLC

JOHN KEELLS HOLDINGS PLC Hot

JOHN KEELLS HOTELS PLC

L

LANKA ASHOK LEYLAND PLC

LANKA IOC PLC

LANKEM CEYLON PLC

LANKEM DEVELOPMENTS PLC

LAUGFS GAS PLC

LAUGFS POWER LIMITED

LOLC FINANCE PLC

LOLC HOLDINGS PLC

LUCKY LANKA MILK PROCESSING COMPANY PLC

M

MELSTACORP PLC

N

NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT BANK PLC

NATION LANKA FINANCE PLC

NESTLE LANKA PLC

O

ORIENT FINANCE PLC

OVERSEAS REALTY (CEYLON) PLC

P

PANASIAN POWER PLC

PEOPLE'S LEASING & FINANCE PLC

PIRAMAL GLASS CEYLON PLC

PRIME FINANCE PLC

R

RAIGAM WAYAMBA SALTERNS PLC

RENUKA AGRI FOODS PLC

RENUKA CAPITAL PLC

RENUKA HOLDINGS PLC

RICHARD PIERIS AND COMPANY PLC

RICHARD PIERIS EXPORTS PLC Hot

ROYAL CERAMICS PLC

S

SAMPATH BANK PLC

SEYLAN BANK PLC

SIERRA CABLES PLC

SINGHE HOSPITALS PLC Hot

SMB LEASING PLC

SOFTLOGIC HOLDINGS PLC

SOFTLOGIC LIFE INSURANCE PLC

SRI LANKA TELECOM PLC

SWISSTEK (CEYLON) PLC Hot

T

TEEJAY LANKA PLC

TESS AGRO PLC

THREE ACRE FARMS PLC

TOKYO CEMENT COMPANY (LANKA) PLC Hot

U

UNION BANK OF COLOMBO PLC

V

VALLIBEL FINANCE PLC

VALLIBEL ONE PLC Hot

VALLIBEL POWER ERATHNA PLC

W

WASKADUWA BEACH RESORT PLC


You are not connected. Please login or register

FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™ » CHRONICLE™ ANALYTICS » Review on the facilities and features of 'Jstock' Investment management software.

Review on the facilities and features of 'Jstock' Investment management software.

Go to page : Previous  1, 2

Go down  Message [Page 2 of 2]

21Review on the facilities and  features  of 'Jstock' Investment management software.  - Page 2 Empty Jstock- Add Stock Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:44 pm

investor0000


Equity Analytic
Equity Analytic
how to add Colombo stocks to Jstock?

investor0000


Equity Analytic
Equity Analytic
can someone please reply....

Quibit


Senior Vice President - Equity Analytics
Senior Vice President - Equity Analytics
Please Visit the "Charts & Graph" Section of the Forum. There is a a separate Topic regarding Jstocks. Charts & Graph Section is located in the "Home" Page of the Forum.

I have given below a quick link but it is better to visit the Section because it has many other topics relating to Stock Market Charts & Graphs and Technical Information.

http://forum.srilankaequity.com/t1917-review-on-the-facilities-and-features-of-jstock-investment-management-software

Quibit


Senior Vice President - Equity Analytics
Senior Vice President - Equity Analytics
The reason to include the said software in our sidebar is to provide alternative option for our members to maintain their portfolio's for periodic appraisals. This is also ideal to maintain virtual portfolios and different buy/sell simulations for performance analysis. This is a free downloadable software and it may have certain limitations as clearly indicated by some members.

As discussed here, I do agree that, it is not advisable to maintain your actual share portfolios in 3rd Party portfolio management software offered by many local and foreign service providers irrespective of their security confirmation.

Currently CDAX and Direct FN offer free portfolio management software together with their order placement software.

swan03


Vice President - Equity Analytics
Vice President - Equity Analytics
Someone has done this perfectly?

26Review on the facilities and  features  of 'Jstock' Investment management software.  - Page 2 Empty Your Questions Answered. Mon Mar 21, 2011 8:55 am

milanka

milanka
Vice President - Equity Analytics
Vice President - Equity Analytics
@investor0000 wrote:how to add Colombo stocks to Jstock?

I mentioned in my review about the matter you raised. There is no direct method. You have to add it manually. I have tried this and its working.

I also notice Gann ( Mod ) also recommended the method I used in another thread . Read my review carefully. I used the Portfolio management for testing it works fine. I will also add my portfolio (actuals ) as an when I get free time .

SWAN03 : You raised some issue , Its not clear what you reqire .

http://forum.srilankaequity.com/u188

swan03


Vice President - Equity Analytics
Vice President - Equity Analytics
@milanka wrote:
@investor0000 wrote:how to add Colombo stocks to Jstock?

I mentioned in my review about the matter you raised. There is no direct method. You have to add it manually. I have tried this and its working.

I also notice Gann ( Mod ) also recommended the method I used in another thread . Read my review carefully. I used the Portfolio management for testing it works fine. I will also add my portfolio (actuals ) as an when I get free time .

SWAN03 : You raised some issue , Its not clear what you reqire .


What I want to know is, has someone already used this sw? Coz I tried to update my data. But I coudnt do any Sad.

milanka

milanka
Vice President - Equity Analytics
Vice President - Equity Analytics
@swan03 wrote:
@milanka wrote:
@investor0000 wrote:how to add Colombo stocks to Jstock?

I mentioned in my review about the matter you raised. There is no direct method. You have to add it manually. I have tried this and its working.

I also notice Gann ( Mod ) also recommended the method I used in another thread . Read my review carefully. I used the Portfolio management for testing it works fine. I will also add my portfolio (actuals ) as an when I get free time .

SWAN03 : You raised some issue , Its not clear what you reqire .


What I want to know is, has someone already used this sw? Coz I tried to update my data. But I coudnt do any Sad.

For testing purposes I spent about 2-3 Hrs with it and it worked. You may have to try different ways and setup it so that it suits the CSE. For Ex. the com % calculations , you have to set what is available to suit our setup at CSE. At CSe i think there are about 5 com % types . but in the software you have only 3 types if I remember right.

Hope this helps.

http://forum.srilankaequity.com/u188

praba11


Equity Analytic
Equity Analytic
JStock mgmnt tool is the site which you have link to this site. Shocked

There are total 25 countries being supported at this moment. but Sri lanka is not incleded.


can any one explain what is the use of this tool for us.?? scratch confused

swan03


Vice President - Equity Analytics
Vice President - Equity Analytics
@praba11 wrote:JStock mgmnt tool is the site which you have link to this site. Shocked

There are total 25 countries being supported at this moment. but Sri lanka is not incleded.


can any one explain what is the use of this tool for us.?? scratch confused

Im also interested in this though still coudnt update my data. But I do update my own excel sheet for the time being Smile

praba11


Equity Analytic
Equity Analytic
yes so far it is useless.. for me.. i dont know y admin attached this link as free tool.. scratch

milanka

milanka
Vice President - Equity Analytics
Vice President - Equity Analytics
In my previous review I mentioned that the data backup and Restore facility is not avialble. But now I found the Save and Data import facility under the File menu.

It is possible to export all the Sold Note infor and Bought note Infor to Excel and also Import it back to Jstock. This you can do at regaular intervals.

This solves the Data backup limitation of Jstock.

http://forum.srilankaequity.com/u188

yccheok


Stock Trader
Hello, I am the author of JStock. There are few thing that I would like to clarify.

1) Currently, JStock doesn't support Sri Lanka stock market. However, I feel quite surprise that some of you use it for Sri Lanka stock market. For example, I cannot find "JOHN KEELLS HOLDINGS PLC" from Yahoo! Finance. Just wondering how do you do this?

Of course, we will be very happy to support Sri Lanka stock market, if Yahoo! Finance able to do so.

2) Regarding backup on portfolio, you may choose "Save to Cloud". No body will access to the data except yourself, and we will not distribute your data to 3rd parties. Please refer to http://jstock.sourceforge.net/privacy.html

Of course, if you feel not save of saving your personal data to the server, you may always choose to save your personal data to your local computer.

DK


Manager - Equity Analytics
Manager - Equity Analytics
Hi Yan
Great to see the author himself turning up Smile

I actually came across JStock today morning and had the same questions as you, how would you use it. I think most of us are using it as a record management tool as opposed to real time portfolio management. So we add stocks as custom stocks without any real-time data. Milanka can correct me on this.

Do you happen to know if there is a mechanism that bloomberg provides for quotes? Sri Lankan stocks are there on Bloomberg, unfortunately Yahoo/Google/Reuters dont provide it as a free service.

milanka

milanka
Vice President - Equity Analytics
Vice President - Equity Analytics
@yccheok wrote:Hello, I am the author of JStock. There are few thing that I would like to clarify.

1) Currently, JStock doesn't support Sri Lanka stock market. However, I feel quite surprise that some of you use it for Sri Lanka stock market. For example, I cannot find "JOHN KEELLS HOLDINGS PLC" from Yahoo! Finance. Just wondering how do you do this?

Of course, we will be very happy to support Sri Lanka stock market, if Yahoo! Finance able to do so.

2) Regarding backup on portfolio, you may choose "Save to Cloud". No body will access to the data except yourself, and we will not distribute your data to 3rd parties. Please refer to http://jstock.sourceforge.net/privacy.html

Of course, if you feel not save of saving your personal data to the server, you may always choose to save your personal data to your local computer.

Hi Yan ,

Welcome to our Forum and thanks for the clarifications.

As correctly mentioned by DK we are still using it as a record management tool as opposed to real time portfolio management. So we add stocks as custom stocks without any real-time data.

With regard to backup , There is no issue there , I am presently using the File --> save option and save it in my own computer as a CSV file.

So our only concern is non availability of real time access to data, We would be most thankful
If you could provide a facility on this.

http://forum.srilankaequity.com/u188

kav4


Senior Manager - Equity Analytics
Senior Manager - Equity Analytics
I manually add the stock symbols & Broker fees (options > Broker fees)

But when I put a buy or see order, it will not calculated the Broker fees. (I have already ticked Auto calculate broker fees, Stamp duty & clearing fees)

Can someone help?

Sponsored content


Back to top  Message [Page 2 of 2]

Go to page : Previous  1, 2

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum