FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™
Dear Reader,

Registration with the Sri Lanka FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™️ would enable you to enjoy an array of other services such as Member Rankings, User Groups, Own Posts & Profile, Exclusive Research, Live Chat Box etc..

All information contained in this forum is subject to Disclaimer Notice published.


Thank You
FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™️
www.srilankachronicle.com


Join the forum, it's quick and easy

FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™
Dear Reader,

Registration with the Sri Lanka FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™️ would enable you to enjoy an array of other services such as Member Rankings, User Groups, Own Posts & Profile, Exclusive Research, Live Chat Box etc..

All information contained in this forum is subject to Disclaimer Notice published.


Thank You
FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™️
www.srilankachronicle.com
FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™

Encyclopedia of Latest news, reviews, discussions and analysis of stock market and investment opportunities in Sri Lanka

LISTED COMPANIES

Submit Post



Poll

Can there be another Covid-19 wave in Sri Lanka?

 
 
 

View results

STOCK MARKET TRAINING
ශ්‍රී ලංකා මූල්‍ය වංශකථාව - සිංහල
Submit Post


CONATCT US


Send your suggestions and comments

* - required fields

Read FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™ Disclaimer



Latest topics

» BROWNS INVESTMENTS PLC (BIL.N0000)
by MoneyLover Yesterday at 7:16 pm

» What is "Introductions" in Upcoming listing in CSE?
by Nandun Yesterday at 1:46 pm

» Glove stocks fall after Top Glove posts weaker 4Q results
by ResearchMan Yesterday at 1:37 pm

» KOTAGALA PLANTATION
by stockchaser Yesterday at 8:03 am

» The stock market can be a great place to make money; it can also be a great place to lose money. Stock market for beginners
by Economatta Yesterday at 6:16 am

» LOFC AND CLC Target Price??
by Captain Fri Sep 17, 2021 9:17 pm

» Top Foreign Trading today
by SAGA Fri Sep 17, 2021 6:32 pm

» Top crossings today
by SAGA Fri Sep 17, 2021 5:01 pm

» EXPOLANKA HOLDINGS PLC (EXPO.N0000)
by Sunimal Fri Sep 17, 2021 12:52 pm

» Amana Takaful ATL & ATLL
by kanishkaecomm Fri Sep 17, 2021 12:17 pm

» Best Time to Collect Cic X
by Value Pick Fri Sep 17, 2021 8:15 am

» Why is First Capital Holdings being dumped?
by Berryfund Fri Sep 17, 2021 6:29 am

» AGST can move
by Zayden River Thu Sep 16, 2021 11:58 pm

» COMMERCIAL CREDIT AND FINANCE PLC (COCR.N0000)
by newone Thu Sep 16, 2021 11:57 pm

» AGSTAR PLC (AGST.N0000)
by Zayden River Thu Sep 16, 2021 11:57 pm

» RAIGAM WAYAMBA SALTERNS PLC (RWSL.N0000)
by Bakkabwoi Thu Sep 16, 2021 8:10 pm

» Twitter accounts related to the stock market
by Bakkabwoi Thu Sep 16, 2021 8:09 pm

» TOKYO CEMENT COMPANY (LANKA) PLC
by xhunter Thu Sep 16, 2021 7:55 pm

» LOFC LOFC LOFC
by madukp Thu Sep 16, 2021 6:49 pm

» How Equity Emerged the Top Asset Class During a Pandemic
by samaritan Thu Sep 16, 2021 6:30 pm

EXPERT CHRONICLE™

MARKET CHAT


CHRONICLE™ ANALYTICS


ECONOMIC CHRONICLE

GROSS DOMESTIC PRODUCT (GDP)


CHRONICLE™ YouTube

LATEST TWEETS

You are not connected. Please login or register

FINANCIAL CHRONICLE™ » EXPERT CHRONICLE™ » Touchwood Case Review

Touchwood Case Review

Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9 ... 16  Next

Go down  Message [Page 2 of 16]

seyon


Assistant Vice President - Equity Analytics
Assistant Vice President - Equity Analytics
Unofficial information that the expected Touchwood case against Sri Lanka Accounting and Auditing Standards Monitoring Board(SLAASMB) next hearing will be on 26th May 2011. Yes everyone looking the favorable outcome. Today, there are rumors that outcome will be favorable to the company and some brokers recommend to buy at current price. I could see some collection (about 820,000 shares) was made @ 23.60 levels.

I just did some research on the Touchwood Case. It looks like decision will be favorable to company. (This is not a promotion, just merely to getting your views. To be honest I do not have TWOD shares at the moment.)

We all know about the case related to the valuation of biological assets. I extracted some facts from SLAASMB website of case information to start from beginning.

The Sri Lanka Accounting and Auditing Standards Monitoring Board has determined that the estimates of fair value of biological assets used by Touchwood Investments Limited in its financial statements for the years ended 31 March 2005 and 31 March 2006 are clearly unreliable. The Company has also not been able to provide the Board with any other estimates which are reliable. Further, the method of valuation used for the year ended 31 March 2005 was not in accordance with International Accounting Standard, IAS 41 Agriculture, which the company has purportedly adopted.

As the company has purportedly adopted International Accounting Standard, IAS 41 Agriculture, the Board has concluded that the biological assets should have been valued at a value which approximates cost in accordance with paragraph 24 (b) of IAS 41 or at cost less accumulated impairment in accordance with paragraph 30 of IAS 41. Based on such valuation the company would not show a net profit for the relevant financial periods.

As the impact on the financial statements is substantial the Board has decided to refer the non-compliance to the Attorney General. The Board has also decided to investigate the compliance with auditing standards by the auditors in relation to the audit of the financial statements of the Company.

Based on the above information I can see in the absence of Sri Lanka Accounting Standards, company uses International Accounting Standards 41, Agriculture for the valuation of biological assets. But SLAASMB argument is that estimates of fair value of the biological assets in not accordance with IAS 41 and the financial statements are unreliable.

Further I have received BASL News Letter (Bar Association) of December 2010, there talked about some legal judgment (I attached the newsletter in our research forum http://research.srilankaequity.com/t96-touchwood-case-basl-bar-association-news-letter-judgement-views , refer page 4 for the Touchwood case). There they briefed about the case and given their views. Based on that, Board had not statutory power to challenge the valuation of the Petitioner on non compliance with IAS 41.

Further company received the Certificate of Compliance by the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka for the Annual Report Awards 2010. This certificates covers the CSR, Financial, Presentation and Compliance. Therefore, this reveals that the company practice in valuing biological assets in accordance with IAS 41 as the certificated awarded by ICASL which is the statutory for setting the Accounting Standards

Followings extract from Touchwood website

Certificate Of Compliance

January 24th 2011

We are proud to announce that our Sri Lankan office, Touchwood Investments PLC has been awarded the “CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE” by the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka for the Annual Report Awards 2010 - at the ceremony held on 7th December 2010.

This award is granted by the Inst. of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka every year. They evaluate and grant awards in key areas such as - CSR, Financials, presentation, compliance, etc.

This certificate emphasizes that all requirements are being met in order for us to achieve our goals and serve our investors with industry leading standards.

For the year to come Touchwood Investments PLC has its goals set on the CSR awards to be handed out in the 2011 ceremony.

Thank you to all our accounting and administration staff who made the award possible.

http://www.touchwood.com/news/certificate-compliance

So Guys, Based on the above information and facts, to me the decision would be favorable to company. How do you all look into that..

Pls Share ur thoughts and views

Share this post on: redditgoogle

Post Thu May 26, 2011 10:55 pm by seyon

Look at the Financial as of 30the September 2011 for the six months.

Net Earnings about Rs.86Mn

Total net assets is Rs.2.8Bn and Net Assets per share about Rs. 39.92.

When u analyze the balance sheet Cash and Cash Equivalents is reported 484 Mn, this is generated from the rights issue. This surplus cash would have been used for the new investment. So we will get very much attractive net assets in the Range of Rs.50-55 per share as at 31.03.2011, Further Agarwood plantations is in stage of harvesting, hence the fair value of these biological assets will boost the net assets.

I am pretty much sure, on disclosing the financial TWOD will have a other run.

Happy Trading


Post Fri May 27, 2011 3:45 pm by seyon

Look some interesting information about Touchwood, I managed to get some information from their newsletter ( http://www.touchwood.com/PDF/TW.YIELD.pdf)

As i mentioned earlier coming financial statement would be very much attractive

Touchwood Delivers over $328,000USD in First Wave ofAgarwood Returns

Our goal at Touchwood is to provide sound investments that
deliver future value. And few products fit that requirement
better than our Agarwood investments. After totaling the returns
paid from November 2010 through the end of March 2011, we
are pleased to report a range of profitability that extends from
24.3% to 34.4% for clients who initially purchased our Agarwood
product.

These returns are just the beginning. In the coming months,
clients who have invested in subsequent agarwood packages
will begin to receive the profitability from their investments as
well.

25% Increase in Price per Tree

Due to the consistent level of quality graded Agarwood being
produced at our plantations we have negotiated a higher price
per KG. This means a higher return of US$250 will be paid out per
tree in quarter 2, an increase of US$50 over the previous quarter.
This proves the quality of our product and commitment to deliver
the best value possible to our clients.
Note: These figures are based on the agar trees that are 6 years old. Our
current 7 year product will hold a higher grade and quantity then the 6 year
meaning a higher level of return come harvest.


Bamboo Processing Plant: Furthering Profitability through High-Quality Timber Products

When it comes to ensuring your investment future, our highest
priority is providing investment products that deliver maximum
value through reliable returns. As such, we are proud to announce
the construction of a series of large-scale, multimilliondollar
processing plants – including a 30,000-square-foot
manufacturing plant and a 15,000-square-foot processing
plant, both located in Sri Lanka and set to open their doors for
production in June 2011 (please see photos on this page). In
Thailand the construction of a further plant is also on the way.
These facilities enable us to process bamboo and other raw
materials, instantly increasing the end value of our investment
products by producing high-grade bamboo flooring that has
been treated, lacquered and finished for sale. In addition, these
plants will create up to 100 jobs for local communities – an
essential component in our ongoing pledge to a triple bottom
line: people, planet, profit.

Post Sat May 28, 2011 1:52 am by seyon

Who gave _ rep.. Pls tell me the reasons

I do not understand the members behavior

Post Sat May 28, 2011 5:08 am by chamith

must be someone who missed the bus, and got losses by getting on board at high.

avatar

Post Sat May 28, 2011 9:01 am by seyon

@seyon wrote:Who gave _ rep.. Pls tell me the reasons

I do not understand the members behavior

I just have done the research on this and Keep on updating my findings. I know there are people in this forum who might have earned profit in early run or who might have bought at high price. Unfortunately again the case has been put off to 18th July 2011, then the price was drop significantly, that is only reason i am updating the finding on TWOD and telling the people who bought at high price that not get panic and be Patience. Yes this will have other run after the financial released. I know the people who tried to pushed up the shares and booked some profit and last two days they are slowly collecting.

Further when i started to post regarding i did not have any single shares of Touchwood, even i did not trade during the run also. If u want to check my portfolio ( It is in Acuity Stockbrokers) I will give my CDS a/c personally.

Now i decided I will not be doing any posting in this forum hereafter, i going to be only the visitor.

Thanks guys for ur all support.

Happy Trading.

Antonym

Post Sat May 28, 2011 9:25 am by Antonym

@seyon: Please do not get discouraged by some misguided member. You will be depriving many of us of your valuable opinions, from which this forum has certainly benefited.

Most of us do not doubt your genuine nature; please continue to express your views sincerely and fearlessly... Thanks, my friend!

avatar

Post Sat May 28, 2011 10:11 am by Fresher

@seyon wrote:
@seyon wrote:Who gave _ rep.. Pls tell me the reasons

I do not understand the members behavior

I just have done the research on this and Keep on updating my findings. I know there are people in this forum who might have earned profit in early run or who might have bought at high price. Unfortunately again the case has been put off to 18th July 2011, then the price was drop significantly, that is only reason i am updating the finding on TWOD and telling the people who bought at high price that not get panic and be Patience. Yes this will have other run after the financial released. I know the people who tried to pushed up the shares and booked some profit and last two days they are slowly collecting.

Further when i started to post regarding i did not have any single shares of Touchwood, even i did not trade during the run also. If u want to check my portfolio ( It is in Acuity Stockbrokers) I will give my CDS a/c personally.

Now i decided I will not be doing any posting in this forum hereafter, i going to be only the visitor.

Thanks guys for ur all support.

Happy Trading.

dear friend,
you must understand people's mentalities. As chamith said, it must be someone who missed the bus or made a loss buying at a high.
the rep system has been argued in the past too. don't take decisions based on that.
most of us know how valuable you are to the forum, so please be with us.

chamith

Post Sat May 28, 2011 4:06 pm by chamith

Come on. This rep thing is so silly.
Well we will give you positive reps. dont worry.

I knew this share was at 52week lowest when i brought it. I just had to hold it nearly 3 weeks. n the rally started. I was so impressed with your research work. The BAR Association newsletter and all the case dates. I tried to even contact a friend of mine who is a lawyer. But certainly you have found so much details than me. So impressed. Please continue sharing your research. Dont get put off by these reps. Anyway there has to be stupid people like those who just jump into rallies without any clue. Well it touched 30 to 32 i knew that the momentum is loosing. So i dumped all my shares. Finally that was a good decision. Now i can buy later at low. If someone who has no analytical point of view, may just give negative reps and express their anger. Its always like that. Take it easy..

UKboy

Post Sat May 28, 2011 4:18 pm by UKboy

@seyon wrote:Who gave _ rep.. Pls tell me the reasons

I do not understand the members behavior

Dont worry Seyon

If you go with the flow most people recognise you as a hero.

But if you see things from a different angle or trying to tell the bitter truth, then you will be black listed.

As Sri Lankans we have this attitude in our blood



Last edited by UKboy on Sat May 28, 2011 4:21 pm; edited 1 time in total

avatar

Post Sat May 28, 2011 4:19 pm by StocksWatch

I also had bought this around 24 and kept in my PF for more than 3 months. When this was trading around 32, I also noticed that buying pressure is diminishing and disposed all my stake between 29.80 and 32.90. As Chamith correctly said, you need to have at least some common sense to notice that the trend is coming to an end and liquidate your position at an early stage. There is no point in blaming others or giving minus reps.

So Seyon, don't worry about these childish behaviours of some. Please cheer up buddy. We need you actively participating in this forum.

avatar

Post Sat May 28, 2011 4:44 pm by bmi

guys its our own money we should take the risk please think no money no honey brokers are brokers they must respect investors brokers have no knowledge they pretending they know everything all bullshit don't believe and depending on brokers and adviser what they say take your own decision win or loss we are happy with the experience of ours

avatar

Post Sat May 28, 2011 5:08 pm by bmi

but I didn't mentioned about Seyon we need him cheers Seyon

avatar

Post Sat May 28, 2011 5:12 pm by kasun333

cheers Seyon

avatar

Post Tue May 31, 2011 9:56 pm by Thushara

cheers seyon......EPS for the Year 11.52 and Net assets per share Rs 50.37. Currently trade at almost haft of it's NA. So there is a another possibly run. What do u think.

Slstock

Post Wed Jun 01, 2011 4:30 am by Slstock

@seyon wrote:
@seyon wrote:Who gave _ rep.. Pls tell me the reasons

I do not understand the members behavior

I just have done the research on this and Keep on updating my findings. I know there are people in this forum who might have earned profit in early run or who might have bought at high price. Unfortunately again the case has been put off to 18th July 2011, then the price was drop significantly, that is only reason i am updating the finding on TWOD and telling the people who bought at high price that not get panic and be Patience. Yes this will have other run after the financial released. I know the people who tried to pushed up the shares and booked some profit and last two days they are slowly collecting.

Further when i started to post regarding i did not have any single shares of Touchwood, even i did not trade during the run also. If u want to check my portfolio ( It is in Acuity Stockbrokers) I will give my CDS a/c personally.

Now i decided I will not be doing any posting in this forum hereafter, i going to be only the visitor.

Thanks guys for ur all support.

Happy Trading.

Seyon, do not get discouraged. Sometimes I too feel when some give negative reps they are more emotional than constructive. I found the way you presented this as genuine and as a finding which is very helpful ( though I don't have any TWOD also within last 9 months).

It is good if there is system to give a reason for negative reps ( comment next to reps. Maybe it can be anonymous ).

avatar

Post Wed Jun 01, 2011 4:20 pm by seyon


Thanks u all for ur support.

My humble request is if u have ( whoever giving Negative rep) any different views pls come and spell out in words rather blindly giving the neg rep.

This is a good platform to sharing our views, don't discourage anyone.

Thanks

avatar

Post Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:42 pm by seyon

This post is not for promoting the share, there are members who interested in financial statement. I just have done the analysis

Let us look at the financial statement as of 31.03.2011

Revenue - Rs.1,589,740,889 out of that Gain Arising from Changes in Fair Value of Biological Assets Rs.1,327,423,575 ( different between the value of biological assets of 2010 & 2011) then the balance of Rs.262,317,314 reporting for Plantation Establishment and Maintenance Income and commission income, which is realized income.

Looking the Revenue,Provision for Purchase Back Guarantee,Fair value of the biological assets and the pattern of each financial stream between the 1st six months to second six months indicates that some of their plantation are in the matured stage ( Agarwood Plantation). Hence the coming quarter we might see the actual return/ fair value from the harvest from these plantation. This will boost the company profit and the cash flow.

Net assets is very much attractive reporting Rs.50, 50% discount to the current Mkt value

Further we can see 385Mn ( from the right issue) cash equivalent is yet to be used for the future investment, As i mentioned company is looking to invest in Bamboo Processing Plant in June 2011

Picked From Newsletter

construction of a series of large-scale, multimilliondollar
processing plants – including a 30,000-square-foot
manufacturing plant and a 15,000-square-foot processing
plant, both located in Sri Lanka and set to open their doors for
production in June 2011 (please see photos on this page). In
Thailand the construction of a further plant is also on the way.


Our expected case against SLAASMB postponed to 18th July 2011

The said Supreme Court Case No SPL LA 42/10 had been postponed on numerous occasions and finally it is fixed for hearing on the 18th of July 2011.

Happy Trading

TuskerLK

Post Wed Jun 01, 2011 7:25 pm by TuskerLK

@seyon wrote:
Thanks u all for ur support.

My humble request is if u have ( whoever giving Negative rep) any different views pls come and spell out in words rather blindly giving the neg rep.

This is a good platform to sharing our views, don't discourage anyone.

Thanks


Exactly seyon, If we make a correction to what we posted here, we are required to give the reason for such edit, whilst the reps are given away anonymously without any reasoning.

Admin, Shed some light on this.

Rocky

Post Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:12 pm by Rocky

So finally are we to conclude that there will be a good run on this share until the court case is finalized on 18/07/2011?

Looks like the profits have been toned down by the management for some reason or another as a huge provision for expenses has been made. I am not sure that the final audited accounts might be better after the court case.

Better to hold on to these shares a little longer to get the best benefit. Those who bought cheap may dispose of them if they got their desired profit.

I will wait the full term as I have bought plenty of this share.
Worth waiting some more.

mono

Post Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:24 pm by mono

hybrid_OS wrote:So finally are we to conclude that there will be a good run on this share until the court case is finalized on 18/07/2011?

Looks like the profits have been toned down by the management for some reason or another as a huge provision for expenses has been made. I am not sure that the final audited accounts might be better after the court case.

Profits have gone up from 331mn to 426mn.

TuskerLK

Post Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:31 pm by TuskerLK

@mono wrote:
hybrid_OS wrote:So finally are we to conclude that there will be a good run on this share until the court case is finalized on 18/07/2011?

Looks like the profits have been toned down by the management for some reason or another as a huge provision for expenses has been made. I am not sure that the final audited accounts might be better after the court case.

Profits have gone up from 331mn to 426mn.

Then how come the EPS gone up from 4 rupees to 11 rupees ( I couldn't dig into the reports)

avatar

Post Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:07 pm by Fresher

tinyman - there was a 1:1 rights issue anda 4:1 subdiision last year.

EPS of 4.68 is the earnings adjusted to the present no. of shares (71mil)
EPS of 11.52 as I understood should hav been calculated with the weighted average no. of shares

btw, is that kumar sangakkara in that top20 list?

Monster

Post Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:20 pm by Monster

npp wrote:tinyman - there was a 1:1 rights issue anda 4:1 subdiision last year.

EPS of 4.68 is the earnings adjusted to the present no. of shares (71mil)
EPS of 11.52 as I understood should hav been calculated with the weighted average no. of shares

btw, is that kumar sangakkara in that top20 list?
Interesting, it seems Kumar Chokshanada Sangakkara is in the top 20 share holder list

Chabbi

Post Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:22 pm by Chabbi

@Monster wrote:
npp wrote:tinyman - there was a 1:1 rights issue anda 4:1 subdiision last year.

EPS of 4.68 is the earnings adjusted to the present no. of shares (71mil)
EPS of 11.52 as I understood should hav been calculated with the weighted average no. of shares

btw, is that kumar sangakkara in that top20 list?
Interesting, it seems Kumar Chokshanada Sangakkara is in the top 20 share holder list

Yesterday night i also noticed Very Happy

may be from IPL money Very Happy

npc86

Post Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:54 pm by npc86

npp wrote:
btw, is that kumar sangakkara in that top20 list?

He has selected nice investment...!

jocolor

Rocky

Post Thu Jun 02, 2011 5:51 am by Rocky

@npc86 wrote:
npp wrote:
btw, is that kumar sangakkara in that top20 list?

He has selected nice investment...!

jocolor


Hope this investment is not dead wood or dry rot does not effect it. certainly not.
What I meant about "Toned down profits" is that the profits should have been higher than which were declared. The profits have increased.

These Accountants and the Management really misguide the public. See what CSEC did.


rijayasooriya

Post Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:58 pm by rijayasooriya

hybrid_OS wrote:
@npc86 wrote:
npp wrote:
btw, is that kumar sangakkara in that top20 list?

He has selected nice investment...!

jocolor


Hope this investment is not dead wood or dry rot does not effect it. certainly not.
What I meant about "Toned down profits" is that the profits should have been higher than which were declared. The profits have increased.

These Accountants and the Management really misguide the public. See what CSEC did.


Please misguid us in the way of increasing the price of share....I have stucked in this share for last eight months and have already lost lot of money.

avatar

Post Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:25 pm by seyon

@rijayasooriya wrote:
hybrid_OS wrote:
@npc86 wrote:
npp wrote:
btw, is that kumar sangakkara in that top20 list?

He has selected nice investment...!

jocolor


Hope this investment is not dead wood or dry rot does not effect it. certainly not.
What I meant about "Toned down profits" is that the profits should have been higher than which were declared. The profits have increased.

These Accountants and the Management really misguide the public. See what CSEC did.


Please misguid us in the way of increasing the price of share....I have stucked in this share for last eight months and have already lost lot of money.

I do not give any recommendation to buy or sell shares, Just i have done some research on TWOD and posted here, I do not have any single share since from last year.

avatar

Post Fri Jun 03, 2011 1:07 pm by seyon

Today the Touchwood is slowly collected @ Rs.27.. The next rally is about to start from land and property sector

stumpy

Post Fri Jun 03, 2011 2:47 pm by stumpy

How do you know that brother!

Even I did Razz

But I don't believe in rallies, pure technicals at work Very Happy

Post  by Sponsored content

Back to top  Message [Page 2 of 16]

Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9 ... 16  Next

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum